Jump label

Service navigation

Main navigation

You are here:

Main content

Studies

Studium_14-8-22

D

Dortmunder Modell 

The two academic courses ‘Architecture and Urban Design’ and ‘Civil Engineering’ are joined together at the Faculty of Architecture and Civil Engineering of the TU Dortmund University. The close integration of the two disciplines is a distinctive feature of this Faculty, which is particularly noticeable in the interdisciplinary approach of education, a teaching concept known as the ‘Dortmunder Modell’. Engineers and Architects are trained together as part of the ‘Dortmunder Modell’. Thus, the "Modell" combines the two large professions of Architects / Engineers, which have been separated since the 19th century, in one Faculty. The aim is both to convey the subject-specific, economic, technical-scientific, artistic and practical-conceptual principles for Architecture and Civil Engineering, as well as offering an interdisciplinary education by cooperation between both fields. The holistic concept of construction is strove for through practical projects. In both professions in their requirements, careers and professional profiles are subject to change, yet the construction industry remains a central field in economic activity. Due to the cross-linked professional cultures of Architects and Engineers in the ‘Dortmunder Modell Bauwesen’, the Faculty encourages an evolution in a comprehensive teaching and research between traditional vocational and technical boundaries. All academic studies at the Faculty of Architecture and Civil Engineering include joint projects (P1, P2 and P3) as interdisciplinary design workshops. The teaching elements of the degree programs of Architecture and Civil Engineering joined in the Modell are aligned in time and content to the projects. During the first semesters of the Bachelor programs, prospective Architects and Civil Engineers will be made familiar with the principles of different subjects in common lectures. Students will work on two projects in the Bachelor and one in the Master degree. Usually, two to three students of each discipline work at a project task. Each student is required to submit his or her subject specific individual part. A review of the performance level is evaluated through colloquia. Mentoring of students takes place regularly in small groups by representatives of several disciplines. Furthermore accompanying lectures are offered.

p

p

p

    Seite 3 - oben - P1 Modelle  

p

Project 1: Single Family House or Apartment Building

The first project is treated in the fourth Bachelor semester and supervised by the chairs of Principles and Theory of Architectural Construction and Structural Design. The aim of the first project is that the students become familiar with the application of specialized knowledge and its extensions in the context of a manageable task of the construction of a house. This early entry in planning - even before the necessary instruments is completely communicated in the course of studies - results in the following benefits to students: Early acquaintance of creative, constructive, functional and economic contexts and dependencies in building design, timely acquaintance of cooperation between the various disciplines, motivation for independent acquisition of knowledge and skills through application of specific planning tasks, professional appropriation by exemplary learning, development of a holistic solution without over-emphasis on individual aspects of design.

p

   P2

p

Project 2: Hall / Frameworks (Office, Administrative or Commercial Buildings)

The second project is located in the 6th semester of the undergraduate programs. The Chairs Architectural Construction, Concrete Construction and Steel Construction, as well as Building Physics and Building Services provide the mentoring. Students practice designing and constructing of a complex Building task corresponding to the progress of studies in interdisciplinary teams (i.e. ball sports hall, fire brigade center, commercial hall). The knowledge emerging from interaction and the articulation of respective problems for project partners as well as the awareness for the joint attempt of finding a solution are important, and thus the experience of the design process as a goal- and success-oriented technical cooperation. Furthermore, during the project students learn: Methodology and organization of the design process (from urban design to engineering), compliance with time limits of intermediate deadlines for the completion of preliminary drafts, final design and engineering, presentation of own work on public colloquia in front of a larger audience (plans, models, presentation).

p

        P3  

p

Project 3: Engineering Structures (Bridge, Stadium, Sky-scraper) 

The Project 3 is offered for all students in the 2nd semester of the Master degree. The planning task covers Engineering constructions. The aim is for students of the three Master degree programs (Architecture and Urban Design, Civil Engineering, Real Estate and Construction Management) to find a common and holistic solution for the given construction task that meets functional, technical, design and economic terms. The chairs of Structural Design, Concrete Construction and Steel Construction, in cooperation with the Chairs Architectural Construction and the Chair of Principles and Theory of Architectural Construction, as well as the Chair of Construction Management, Chair of Real Estate Management and the Chair of Building Technologies supervise the P3.

  



Sub content

Contact Us

TU Dortmund University

Faculty of Architecture
and Civil Engineering

GB II, Campus Süd
August-Schmidt-Str. 8
D-44221 Dortmund

Map

Phone +49(0)231-755 2074
Fax +49(0)231-755 5279

Sprungmarken

Servicenavigation

Hauptnavigation

Sie sind hier:

Hauptinhalt

Studium

Studium_14-8-22

D

Dortmunder Modell Bauwesen

In der Fakultät Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen der Technischen Universität Dortmund sind die beiden Lehreinheiten Architektur und Städtebau sowie Bauingenieurwesen zusammengefasst. Die enge Verflechtung der beiden Fächer ist ein einzigartiges Merkmal der Fakultät, welches sich insbesondere im interdisziplinär angelegten Ausbildungsansatz des Dortmunder Modells bemerkbar macht. Im Dortmunder Modell Bauwesen werden Architektinnen und Architekten sowie Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieure gemeinsam ausgebildet. Das Dortmunder Modell vereint damit die beiden großen, seit dem 19. Jahrhundert getrennten, Berufsgruppen der Architekten/-innen und Ingenieure/-innen in einer Fakultät. Ziel ist sowohl die Vermittlung der fachspezifischen, wirtschaftlichen, technisch-wissenschaftlichen, praktischen und künstlerisch-konzeptionellen Grundlagen für die Architektur und das Bauingenieurwesen, als auch das Angebot einer fachübergreifenden Ausbildung mit Kooperation zwischen Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen. Die ganzheitliche Bauauffassung wird durch praxisbezogene Projekte angestrebt. In beiden Berufen ändern sich Berufsbilder, Anforderungen und Fachprofile ständig, dennoch bleibt das Bauwesen ein zentrales Feld volkswirtschaftlichen Handelns. Durch die im Dortmunder Modell Bauwesen vernetzten Fachkulturen Architekt und Ingenieur wird eine Weiterentwicklung in übergreifender Lehre und Forschung zwischen den traditionellen Berufs- und Fachgrenzen hinaus gefördert. Alle Studiengänge der Fakultät Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen beinhalten die gemeinsamen Projekte (P1, P2 und P3) in Form von interdisziplinären Entwurfsseminaren. Die Lehrelemente der im Modell vereinigten Studiengänge der Architektur und des Bauingenieurwesens sind zeitlich und inhaltlich auf die Projektarbeit ausgerichtet. Angehende Architekten und Bauingenieure werden während der ersten Bachelorsemester in gemeinsamen Vorlesungen mit den Grundlagen ihrer Fächer vertraut gemacht. Von den Studierenden sind zwei Projekte im Bachelor- und ein Projekt im Masterstudiengang zu bearbeiten. Im Regelfall arbeiten jeweils zwei bis drei Studierende aus je einer Disziplin an einer Projektaufgabe zusammen. Es werden dabei fachspezifische Einzelleistungen verlangt, eine Überprüfung des Leistungsstandes findet durch Kolloquien statt, die Betreuung der Studierenden erfolgt regelmäßig in kleinen Korrekturgruppen durch Vertreter mehrerer Fachgebiete, dazu werden begleitende Veranstaltungen angeboten.

p

    Seite 3 - oben - P1 Modelle  

p

Projekt 1: Massivbau (Ein- oder Mehrfamilienhaus, Atelierhaus)

Das erste Projekt wird im 4. Bachelorsemester bearbeitet und durch die Lehrstühle Grundlagen und Theorie der Baukonstruktion sowie Tragkonstruktionen betreut. Ziel des ersten Projektes ist es, dass die Studierenden sich mit der Anwendung fachspezifischer Kenntnisse im Zusammenhang einer überschaubaren Aufgabe des Wohnungsbaus vertraut machen und diese Kenntnisse erweitern. Von diesem frühzeitigen Einstieg in die Planung – noch ehe in der Lehre das dafür erforderliche Instrumentarium vollständig vermittelt ist – ergeben sich folgende Vorteile für die Studierenden: frühzeitiges Kennenlernen von gestalterischen, konstruktiven, funktionalen und ökonomischen Zusammenhängen und Abhängigkeiten in der Gebäudeplanung, rechtzeitiges Kennenlernen der Zusammenarbeit den verschiedenen Disziplinen, Motivation zum selbständigen Erwerben von Wissen und Fähigkeiten durch Anwendung an konkreten Planungsaufgaben, fachliche Aneignung durch exemplarisches Lernen sowie die Erarbeitung einer gesamtheitlichen Lösung ohne Überbetonung gestalterischer Einzelaspekte.

p

   P2

p

Projekt 2: Halle/Skelettbau (Verwaltungs-, Nutz-, Sonder-, Hallenbauten)

Das zweite Projekt ist im 6. Semester der Bachelor-Studiengänge angeordnet. Die Betreuung erfolgt durch die Lehrstühle Baukonstruktion, Betonbau und Stahlbau sowie Bauphysik und Technische Gebäudeausrüstung. Die Studierenden üben wiederum in interdisziplinär besetzten Teams das Entwerfen und Konstruieren an einer dem Studienfortschritt entsprechend komplexeren Bauaufgabe (z.B. Ballsporthalle, Feuerwehrzentrum, Gewerbehalle). Wichtig sind unter anderem das aus der Interaktion resultierende Kennenlernen und die Artikulation der jeweiligen Probleme der Projektpartner, der aus diesem Bewusstsein entspringende gemeinsame Versuch der Lösungsfindung und damit die Erfahrung des Entwurfsprozesses als eine zielgerichtete und erfolgsorientierte fachliche Zusammenarbeit. Weiterhin werden während der Projektbearbeitung gelernt: Methodik und Organisation des Entwurfsvorgangs (vom Städtebau bis zur Werkplanung), die Einhaltung von Zeitvorgaben mit den Zwischenterminen für die Fertigstellung von Vorentwurf, Entwurf und Werkplanung sowie die Präsentation der eigenen Arbeiten an öffentlichen Kolloquien vor einem größeren Publikum (Pläne, Modelle, Vortrag).

p

        P3  

p

Projekt 3: Ingenieurbauten (Brücke, Hangar, Stadion, weit gespannte Überdachungen, Hochhaus)

Das Projekt 3 wird für alle Studierende des 3. Mastersemesters angeboten. Die Planungsaufgabe behandelt Ingenieurkonstruktionen. Ziel ist es, dass die Studierenden der drei Master-Studiengänge (Architektur und Städtebau, Konstruktiver Ingenieurbau, Bauprozessmanagement und Immobilienwirtschaft) gemeinsam für die gestellte Bauaufgabe eine ganzheitliche Lösung finden, die in funktionaler, technischer, gestalterischer und wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht befriedigt. Das P3 wird von den Lehrstühlen Betonbau und Stahlbau, jeweils in Zusammenarbeit mit den Lehrstühlen Grundlagen und Theorie der Baukonstruktion sowie Baukonstruktion und den Lehrstühlen Baubetrieb und Bauprozessmanagement sowie Immobilienwirtschaft und Bauorganisation betreut.

  



Nebeninhalt

KONTAKT

Technische Universität
Dortmund

Fakultät Architektur
und Bauingenieurwesen

GB II, Campus Süd
August-Schmidt-Str. 8
D-44221 Dortmund
Lageplan

Fon +49(0)231-755 2074
Fax +49(0)231-755 5279